French canal painting

Assalamu allaikum,

Well, we’re just about done with our introduction to watercolor. Its been real fun and we learned a lot. A lot of people tell me that watercolor is the hardest paint to use. I don’t know if it’s because the consistency, the techniques or mixing the colors. I do know that they look great and so do all of my student’s work.

Our last class is about buildings. As for most of my classes, I let the students choose what kind of painting they are interested in. In this class, my student chose a french town that has a canal flowing through it. We used 2 point perspective to rough in the big shapes and then we used ink to draw in the smaller shapes. This class was quite long. There was a lot of work to do and I hope it was worth it.

Here are the results:

Leave a Reply

